The rules of any game can take time to get down. Still, with a game like badminton, where there is so much specific terminology and particular penalties, it can be nice to just have some of the more nitty-gritty rules laid out explicitly. So, in badminton can you touch the net without receiving a fault, and what happens if you do?
You cannot touch the net in badminton without receiving a fault. This means you will automatically lose the rally and your opponent will score a point. This extends not only to you but to your racket as well. If it touches the net, you will still lose the rally and allow your opponent to score.
If you’re curious how the rules of badminton work when it comes to what can and cannot touch the net, you’ve come to the right place. In our guide below we will walk you through everything from what happens when you accidentally touch the net to whether or not anything can touch the net at all without a penalty. So come along and let’s dive right in!
So, what really happens when you touch the net in badminton? Does the shuttlecock just go to your opponent for a serve or do they actually get to score a point?
If you accidentally touch the net in badminton you will receive a fault, lose the rally, and allow your opponent to score a rally point. Yikes. That’s why you really want to do your best to stay close enough to where you can reach the shuttlecock, without getting so close you fall right into the net.
While it might sound easy, people make this mistake all the time.
Most of the time this mistake is made during an intense rally when the two players are tight up to the net. You’ll usually see one go in for a net-kill and accidentally brush against the net in the process.
Just because you yourself can’t touch the net doesn’t necessarily mean that the shuttlecock can’t. Still depending on whether it’s being served or in-play may change its legality within the game. So, what happens when the shuttlecock touches the net in play or on a serve?
Below we’ve broken down what happens when the shuttlecock touches the net both in play and on a serve:
- The shuttlecock touches the net in play: The shuttlecock actually can touch the net if it’s in play as long as it still goes over. This means if it skims the top of the net but still makes it to your opponent, it is still perfectly legal within the game. Of course, if it skims the bottom of the net but still goes to the other side it is not legal.
- The shuttlecock touches the net on a serve: If the shuttlecock touches the net on a serve it too is able to touch the net as long as it still goes over. It is a common misconception that if the shuttlecock touches the net on a serve it will count as a foul. However, we are here to say that’s only the case if it doesn’t go over.
We should point out that touching the top part of the net is not only allowed but, in a sense, encouraged by the fact that there are specific maneuvers like the net cord. With the net cord, a player attempts to hit the net so that the shuttlecock just barely drops over the other side. It’s a powerful technique for catching your opponent off guard.
We got our Baden Badminton Set Here on Amazon for a good deal and it’s put up with a good beating and still works for us. I recommend starting your search there.
Now that we’ve covered what happens if you or the shuttlecock touch the net, let’s turn our attention to your racket. What happens if you accidentally hit the net with your racket in badminton? Is it the same as touching it yourself or is it okay as long as you yourself aren’t the one touching it?
If you accidentally hit the net with your racket it will be treated the same way if you touched the net yourself. That is to say, you will receive a fault, lose the rally and your opponent will score a point.
- This is why it’s best to really practice getting up close to the net to hit the shuttlecock
- If you can gain the right level of control and fluidity, not only to your own movements but to how you hold the racket itself
- You will be able to maneuver your way around bumping into the net and maybe be able to get your opponent to instead.
Now we’ve looked at what happens when you, your racket, or the shuttlecock touches the net in badminton, let’s ask the big question, what is there that actually can touch the net in badminton without receiving a fault?
The shuttlecock is the only thing that should touch the net while the game is in play, and even then it still has to go over. If anything else touches the net it will be a fault of one kind or another.
The bottom line is that you cannot touch the net in badminton. That is, at least, if you don’t want a fault and don’t want to lose a rally. Not only will you lose the rally but your opponent will score a point as well.
The same, of course, is true of your racket as well. If the racket touches the net it is the same as if you did it yourself.
The only thing that really can touch the net is the shuttlecock, and that’s only if it still goes over. This is why techniques like the net cord were developed. With this, the aim is to hit the top of the net in such a way that the shuttlecock bounces off and just barely drops over the other side. So next time you play badminton, avoid touching the net yourself and try pulling off a net cord.